Methodology: How I Read the Cards and Where it Began

Many people have asked me when I was doing readings in Asia, the US, Canada, and over the phone, “When did you begin doing this [tarot]? How did you learn?”

First, I must say that you could spend a lifetime practicing tarot and still not master it one hundred percent. Even with a strong background in Greek mythology and knowing universal themes, there are 78 cards in a deck, reversed meanings, differences in interpretation of reversed meanings, several dozen decks to choose from, and the subjective interpretation of the cards by both the reader and the querent.

In my case, the first time I can remember psychic ability, the foundation of later tarot readings, was when I was about four-years-old. It started with a skill that we all have and underuse, that of working out the “if, then” conditionals in our minds. When I was that age, I would love to blow out candles. When I was forbade to do so once with my grandparents, I knew that if I told each grandparent that the other one told me to blow out the candles, I would be given permission to do so more willingly and most likely without any further investigation. Once too, when I wanted my father to pay attention to me and I was around this same age, I called 911 and hung up, knowing that they would call back and ask for him.

These are innocuous (if not devious!) and seemingly irrelevant examples of how supernatural and logical abilities develop early on, but the point is that through rules and socialization, our ability to reason, manipulate, and control outcomes are systematically lessened and neutralized over time. If you think too far outside of the box and get too good at something, it is considered deviant behavior, even when no harm is done.

For many years, I did not detect or exhibit any sense of knowing beyond black-and-white, official parameters. However, around middle school I began encountering innocent hauntings, the first of which was the sound of papers flying around in my room before school in the morning, when I was typically alone. Shortly thereafter, I noticed Sylvia Browne on television, and a lot of what she had to say struck a chord with me. While a lot of predictions in rather short order proved to be false and speculative, many of her books are excellent resources to forming a healthy perspective of what to do with our inherent psychic qualities.  So I therefore began a haphazard way of predicting things, and found that I often predicted pregnancies, dates of events, knew of relationships I shouldn’t have, crimes committed, etcetera.

I always knew that one way to harness my abilities into a more systematic way would be to get some sort of device to hold my concentration and take some of the performative pressures off of me. In January 2009, at the worst of the worldwide recession, the month when 660,000 people lost their jobs in the US, everything was at fire sale prices and when I was at Barnes & Noble one night with my friend Rose, I saw a new Aquarian Tarot deck on sale for $5. I purchased it with some reluctance (I feel guilty for spending any money), I was able to immediately devise a methodology to it that I have kept ever since. One card for personality and life’s disposition, think of a question, pull two cards, state the question, I answer the question in a past and present context, then the querent takes two more cards, and that is the future or recommendation. All clients must remember this initial card because if it changes, the information becomes less reliable in future readings.

This system has kept me going for more than two years now, and I find that there is no end to the dimensions that can be found in these cards, and I am just beginning to hit the stride or groove of it all.

Have you developed your own tarot methodology? How did you arrive at it?

John Lett

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

