Angel from the Rust Belt Hits Gritty 1970s and 80s New York Underground Art Scene

John Lett (About) (Sessions) (tarotworldtour YouTube)  lisafalour

In early January, it will mark one year since the reported passing of Lisa Baumgardner Falour, an underground artist of tremendous wit, variety of talent, and powers of observation. We covered her here to great response in March with the Remembering Lisa Falour post (which includes a few videos and other resources with information about her), and at some point by early next year, I’m planning to release some of our correspondence. I feel confident that her spirit is in agreement with me doing this because several of the people in our YouTube circle experienced her BCCing (blind carbon copying) other individuals in her emails, often without our knowledge, if she felt that somehow relevant information was going to be passed. She was not discrete in this regard, and yet somehow it is for our entertainment and shock in these subsequent years. She often wrote to me and others in emails “Leave it to my biographers to sort out!” So that’s what we’ll do and perhaps others will be inspired to pick up her story.

As a preview of what to expect in these exchanges (actual names will be removed where necessary and appropriate), I found a lengthy video of hers that I had somehow missed, probably because of its length. This is her scrapbook which corroborates much of what she disclosed, which is phenomenal in that so much of what she told seemed embellished but wasn’t – it was all so varied and larger than life. So we’ll catch you again soon with the informal release of ULTIMATE LISA. In the video below, she mentions Keith Haring, William S. Burroughs, Jack Handey and Saturday Night Live ties, and shares related notes and scraps placing her firmly in the hippest and most edgy settings of New York in the 1970s, 80s, and early 90s.

 

 

 

PLEASE BE WARNED – SOME OF THE IMAGES SHOWN MAY BE OFFENSIVE TO SOME READERS AND VIEWERS AND MAY NOT BE SUITABLE FOR INDIVIDUALS 19-YEARS-OLD OR YOUNGER (I have not seen every moment of the clip, but rather listened to it in its entirety):

 

 

John Lett (About) (Sessions) (tarotworldtour YouTube)  

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Angel from the Rust Belt Hits Gritty 1970s and 80s New York Underground Art Scene

  1. jewelsinaz says:

    Hi John,
    I still miss Lisa’s little video clips – don’t know why I was so drawn in – perhaps I simply admire her lack of filter and interesting sense of observation and recall. I sure would love to hear her thoughts and perceptions on what is happening in Paris, and especially St. Denis, these days. You too? I look to the release of your correspondence!

    • There are so many things that have happened I would really appreciate her perspective on. She was extremely insightful and totally arrested the attention of her audiences. As another viewer, I am curious if you are North America based or from another region. I am in the US Midwest but was living in Vancouver, Canada when I first stumbled on her videos.

  2. jewelsinaz says:

    I’m originally from the Midwest, Chicagoland, but relocated to Arizona 10 years ago and found Lisa shortly after returning from Paris with thoughts of moving there “some day”. I had previously seen this scrapbook video, and I thought I’d seen them all, but every time I click on her channels there seems to be more I missed. I also enjoy the the very interesting cast of characters I find in her followers!

Leave a Reply

