Hauntings and Romanticism in Unexpected Corners of Romania

John Lett (About) (Sessions) (tarotworldtour YouTube)

To get a strong feel for the country, I selected images that should rouse some kind of feeling if you expand them.

I went to Romania expecting Transylvania to be the place with the strongest psychic forces jumping on any stray electric spark they could harness to this world but instead the region that really held the most strange energy was Moldavia in northeastern Romania. I did not allow for an appropriate amount of time for this region because Romania is slow and cumbersome to cross and I was not aware of the uniqueness of the region but in the future I would spend more time there. I am not entirely sure of if the other world activity is positive – there was sort of a heaviness to the prayers and energy of the Orthodox churches here and in my opinion people overdo their crossing themselves here and in the region nearest Romania in Ukraine.

As I heard and saw people praying intensely (final image in sequence), I felt something very severe and as though they were inviting evil rather than repelling it. I wished to intervene but you cannot do this as a visitor in a country especially.

Suceava, Romania was the main entry point and then I stopped in Piatra-Neamt, which was a rough town but the gateway to the Carpathians and quite authentic. Lots of wild dogs were there including two that jumped out of the brush and wanted me to take them. Apparently there are still not animal rescue and shelter operations in place.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Over Brasov in Transylvania.

I was very struck by the generosity and efforts to help of people throughout the country, but particularly in the center and western areas. Unfortunately, I did not make it to the capital Bucharest yet, but did manage to make some wonderful friends from there and plan to return.

Piatra Neamț was where the dogs popped out of the brush. The railroad tracks were probably one my favorite scenes of a months-long trip.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This was a mountain divide with some local summer and weekend cottages with massive gardens tucked in between. These properties would surely sustain Romania in a time of energy crisis and I often joke that the grandmothers of Eastern Europe will save humanity from extinction one day.

Mostly Transylvania and a bit of a Suceava monastery at the top. I was impressed by the monastery having solar panels. I also did do the requisite Vlad the Impaler tour stops but felt nothing there and a lot of it really diluted by exaggerated commercialization. 

I recommend Romania as a place to feel an energy that is quite different from other places – very mysterious and heavy. The people are potentially the most hospitable as a collective that I have ever encountered and you will make meaningful friendships there. I did not get to see it personally because the locations are rather remote, but a growing number of do-it-yourself western Europeans are settling in some areas that are felt to be bargains (many places in the vicinity of €30,000 can be found).

John Lett (About) (Sessions) (tarotworldtour YouTube)

This entry was posted in spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hauntings and Romanticism in Unexpected Corners of Romania

  1. Kelly says:

    Excellent read!! The photos are stunning and very interesting!!

  2. K_H says:

    Thank you for sharing! I thoroughly enjoyed reading your post.

  3. Bryan Welch says:

    I think we’d like to go with you, John.

  4. Sofia says:

    Thank you, John. I understand about places that are not necessarily famous being more spiritually intense than the ones that have been labeled as such. A very good example is the temple museum near Dazaifu(intense, lonely, frustrated spirits), versus Dazaifu Tenmangu(not much feeling at all). I would say that I am most sensitive to locations… One day I will tell the story of my first week in Fukuoka.
    Thanks again for sharing your travels and thoughts. It is inspirational.

    • Sofia, so glad to have you put some other examples here. I’ve only been to Japan briefly but of northeastern Romania I keep saying “it’s the most haunted place on Earth I’ve been to – except maybe Japan.” The kami in the west and southwest want to be heard and that is worth another trip on its own. Anxious to hear about Fukuoka.

Leave a Reply

